International Association of Internet Broadcasters - IAIB

News Updates
October 2, 2013:
Bambuser Adds Restrictions To Free Streaming
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Internet Broadcasting - Making It a Career

IAIB Pro Broadcaster Spencer Kobren's Avatar

Internet Broadcasting - Making It a Career

Who here hopes to make Internet Broadcasting their career, and if you do, how do you plan on making it happen?
    Follow Me On Twitter: @spencerkobren

I do! I have been doing it full time for 2 years. You just need to take it one day at a time. Dont go into it with the idea that you are going to make money. Start out as a hobby

I certainly do, and am already half way there.

We have a healthy advertising budget (not huge, but healthy enough to keep the lights on). The next step is figuring out how to grow the audience while growing the advertising dollar. Although I am not a big fan of advertising, it is what it is and until we are in a good enough spot to seek out something different than this is the road we will continue on.

My ultimate goal would be to have two separate type of shows. The Entertainment show which would be paid for by the Corporate show (a show we produce for a company as their marketing tool). Until that happens; however, advertising is still our key to success.

Moderator / IAIB Pro Broadcaster mcphillips's Avatar
    I'd love to, but it's probably not in the cards. If I help enough other people get their acts together, maybe they'll cut me in.
    Please direct all questions for me to the forum so that all can benefit.

I would like to make a career out of my blogs and podcasts however I feel that since there are not a lot of podcasts out there that deal with what I do it will be hard. Also the kind of broadcaster is similar to the likes of Joan Rivers and Wendy Williams so it will be hard for me to appeal to the mainstream media and be marketable. I refuse to become a media minority stereotype for women of color.
    Jadori