International Association of Internet Broadcasters - IAIB

News Updates
October 2, 2013:
Bambuser Adds Restrictions To Free Streaming
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Compression and noise floor question

Compression and noise floor question

Hi all

I've been trying to deal with an issue in Adobe audition that causes a great deal of frustration for me. When i record my podcast I have no "noise" in the background , thanks to a noise gate on my compressor and a ground loop isolator.

However during post production, when i normalize and use the multi-band compressor tool , hissing is introduced. I hear a lot of podcasts out there where this hiss is not present. Am I doing something wrong ?

Thanks,

Moderator / IAIB Pro Broadcaster mcphillips's Avatar
    A compressor reduces audio dynamics and, therefore, reduces your signal-to-noise ratio. Think about it like this. If your compressor reduces your overall volume by 10 dB on a peak, when the compressor "relaxes", or does not attenuate, it essentially turns UP your volume by 10 dB. So, if the normal noise floor on your audio is -45 dB, after running the audio through a compressor set for 10 dB compression, your noise floor is only -35 dB. That's one possibility.

Why don't you post a before and an after clip of your audio so that we can try to hear what you're doing? Compressors are difficult to set just right. Most people set them incorrectly. There could be something else going on.
    Please direct all questions for me to the forum so that all can benefit.

I know Mike would have an answer for this

My last episode of tektalk5 was recorded and processed with Adobe Audition. You can hear it here.

A sound file with no compression is attachedUntitled Session 1_mixdown.zip

Thanks a bunch !