International Association of Internet Broadcasters - IAIB

News Updates
October 2, 2013:
Bambuser Adds Restrictions To Free Streaming
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Be Careful With Windows 7 Communications Tab

  1. #1
    Moderator / IAIB Pro Broadcaster mcphillips's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    599

    Be Careful With Windows 7 Communications Tab

    Windows 7 sound includes a function that allows a program such as Skype or SIP to be designated as a communications device. If you're not careful, you will encounter a problem that I had with Skype on a new computer last week. We use two instances of Skype on the same computer for a radio show. When I connected the second Skype account, the volume of the first one almost disappeared.

    Upon investigation, I discovered that the problem is that the Communications tab should be set to "Do nothing" instead of set to reduce the volume of the other audio sources.



    In the past, I've always set it to "Do nothing" without having had a problem. For some reason, on the new computer, I didn't bother.

    I don't fully understand the interaction with Default Sound Device and Default Communications Device, but since I don't use the Communications function, I disable the volume reduction function. You may want to do it, too.
    Last edited by mcphillips; 12-31-2013 at 07:27 AM.
    Please direct all questions for me to the forum so that all can benefit.

  2. #2
    Administrator andrewzarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Queens NY
    Posts
    1,702
    this is a great tip. I have been telling people to do this for years.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Podnutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    359
    I never noticed this setting. Thanks Mike. What happens when this setting it turned on? How is it effecting the call quality?

  4. #4
    Senior Member oscarmartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Corona NY
    Posts
    208
    Thanks mike. Great tip
    you best get steppin

  5. #5
    IAIB Pro Broadcaster Spencer Kobren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    309
    Great tip Mike! Happy New Year my friend!
    Follow Me On Twitter: @spencerkobren

  6. #6
    IAIB Broadcaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    40
    Great tip but how can you open two instances of skype? I have four accounts but when I launch Skype it doesn't ask me user and password and I can't open more than one instance at the same time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
International Association of Internet Broadcasters All Rights Reserved.
Follow Us