International Association of Internet Broadcasters - IAIB

News Updates
October 2, 2013:
Bambuser Adds Restrictions To Free Streaming
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How much can a 2013 Macbook Pro handle?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    5

    How much can a 2013 Macbook Pro handle?

    Dear IAIB,

    I just upgraded to a 2013 Macbook Pro/Retina i7 with 16 gb ram. I am trying to put 2 HDMI cameras into the 2 thunderbolt connections.

    When I plug each camera into the MB using the BM mini recorder, they work fine and all is happy. However, when I plug them both into the MB I am only getting picture out of one. Is this a power issue? Is this a setting issue?

    Should this be able to work?

    If this doesn't work... The next plan is to run WireCast on the MBP with one camera and have camera 2 stream into a MPAir and do a Desktop Presenter transfer. If.... I do this, what is the best app for having camera 2 show on up on the Air so I can DTPresenter on the second screen?

    Thanks guys!

    Jeff
    @TeacherCast

  2. #2
    Senior Member Podnutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    359
    as far as i know it should be working. Are u able to get video from the camera that isn't working right if you only plug that one in ?

  3. #3
    Web / Roku Developer RadarGaming's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Albany, New York
    Posts
    143
    Jeff,

    I would make sure that the macbook is able to use both devices at the same time. I would contact BM support and see if the devices and the macbook support that.
    For Web Design And More Check Out Craig Digital Designs!

  4. #4
    IAIB Broadcaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    178
    I think they might share the same bus so there might not be enough power to drive both. This is a guess but it would be good if we can find out for sure.
    Get a PC!

  5. #5
    IAIB Pro Broadcaster techzentv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    185
    What software are you using to try to see both at the same time? Wirecast? That should work. Can you see them both using the BMD Media Express?

  6. #6
    Senior Member oscarmartz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Corona NY
    Posts
    208
    Would you guys recommend using a laptop for production? I would imagine you would encounter issues with USB and Thunderbolt bus
    you best get steppin

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
International Association of Internet Broadcasters All Rights Reserved.
Follow Us