International Association of Internet Broadcasters - IAIB

News Updates
October 2, 2013:
Bambuser Adds Restrictions To Free Streaming
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Questions

Newbie Questions

Hi everyone.

I'm just beginning to research what's involved in creating an internet broadcast. I know I will produce at least a podcast, but am also considering vodcast.

I have taken college courses in journalism (editing, newspaper & magazine articles). My software Adobe Audition, Premiere, and After Effects. I also have a 1080p Logitech webcam on my desktop, and an iPhone 5s (for outdoor recordings). I have also started to purchase music through PremiumBeat.

Question 1:
    I want to begin with podcasting where I interview others. I can record the audio for something like that easily enough through Skype, but I would like to be able to apply sound effects during the conversation to dramatacise any emotional impact to enhance the conversation. If I have a collection of audio sound effects (and I do), is there a control panel or resource that would allow me to push a button during the conversation to play/record the effect? I could do this the long way by inserting the effect into the conversation using Audition, but I'd rather push a button during the conversation than edit the sound in to the track.

Question 2:
    When I've played around with vodcasts in the past, people have told me that I have a good voice and that I seem to really enjoy it... but I have no confidence with respect to my voice. What resources may be available to me that will help me learn to speak like a radio host (or even a broadcast news journalist for that matter)?

Queston 3:
    What do I need to know about Microphones or recording equipment. I've considered the Zoom h4n, but am not certain if that's a good starting point.

Question 4:
    And Subscriptions. What do I need to know about setting up pod/vod-casts by subscription?

Thanks,
    Buck

Hi Buck