PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Advice On Getting Started Quickly!

radiobob
12-17-2012, 11:55 AM
Hi, I'd like to solicit some free advice. I have several years of broadcasting experience in radio as a host/producer/news announcer but I've never done a podcast. I've just had an opportunity drop in my lap to do an outdoors show on a new internet station that launches in two weeks. I think I'm going to try BlogTalkRadio.com to get started as all I have at the moment is a cheap microphone from WalMart ( which actually doesn't sound too bad), an old computer and Audacity. I'm really under the gun to get started quick so any tips, tricks and advice I could get would be more than appreciated. Thanks!

Bob

andrewzarian
12-17-2012, 03:09 PM
Hello Bob,

What type of budget are you working with? If you give me a price range I can narrow things down for you

radiobob
12-17-2012, 03:31 PM
Thanks for the reply Andrew. Budget, what's that? Seriously though, I really don't have any till after the holiday and even then it won't be much. That's a big part of the problem. I should have mentioned that I intend to do mostly guest interviews. The show runs 54 minutes. I don't even have long distance on my land line, I've been using Google voice which is free in the U.S. and works well for me since I don't make too many long distance calls. However I will have to to do this show. I'm a little shaky about Voice, there's a nanosecond of a delay that can sometimes be confusing, and sometimes the quality goes in and out. However, I can't rectify the situation till after the show will launch so I guess I'll have to do the best with it, unless someone has any better ideas. But to answer your question, low budget for now.

TomSinclair
12-17-2012, 03:36 PM
What ever you do; test, test and test again.

andrewzarian
12-17-2012, 03:50 PM