PDA

View Full Version : Internet Broadcasting - Making It a Career

Spencer Kobren
11-28-2012, 10:35 PM
Who here hopes to make Internet Broadcasting their career, and if you do, how do you plan on making it happen?

andrewzarian
11-29-2012, 07:53 AM
I do! I have been doing it full time for 2 years. You just need to take it one day at a time. Dont go into it with the idea that you are going to make money. Start out as a hobby

BradShoemaker
11-29-2012, 07:55 AM
I certainly do, and am already half way there.

We have a healthy advertising budget (not huge, but healthy enough to keep the lights on). The next step is figuring out how to grow the audience while growing the advertising dollar. Although I am not a big fan of advertising, it is what it is and until we are in a good enough spot to seek out something different than this is the road we will continue on.

My ultimate goal would be to have two separate type of shows. The Entertainment show which would be paid for by the Corporate show (a show we produce for a company as their marketing tool). Until that happens; however, advertising is still our key to success.

mcphillips
11-29-2012, 11:29 AM
I'd love to, but it's probably not in the cards. If I help enough other people get their acts together, maybe they'll cut me in.

Jadori
11-30-2012, 01:28 AM
I would like to make a career out of my blogs and podcasts however I feel that since there are not a lot of podcasts out there that deal with what I do it will be hard. Also the kind of broadcaster is similar to the likes of Joan Rivers and Wendy Williams so it will be hard for me to appeal to the mainstream media and be marketable. I refuse to become a media minority stereotype for women of color.

cseeman
11-30-2012, 08:33 AM