PDA

View Full Version : Compression and noise floor question

shorter126
09-17-2012, 12:20 AM
Hi all

I've been trying to deal with an issue in Adobe audition that causes a great deal of frustration for me. When i record my podcast I have no "noise" in the background , thanks to a noise gate on my compressor and a ground loop isolator.

However during post production, when i normalize and use the multi-band compressor tool , hissing is introduced. I hear a lot of podcasts out there where this hiss is not present. Am I doing something wrong ?

Thanks,:confused:

mcphillips
09-18-2012, 03:51 AM
A compressor reduces audio dynamics and, therefore, reduces your signal-to-noise ratio. Think about it like this. If your compressor reduces your overall volume by 10 dB on a peak, when the compressor "relaxes", or does not attenuate, it essentially turns UP your volume by 10 dB. So, if the normal noise floor on your audio is -45 dB, after running the audio through a compressor set for 10 dB compression, your noise floor is only -35 dB. That's one possibility.

Why don't you post a before and an after clip of your audio so that we can try to hear what you're doing? Compressors are difficult to set just right. Most people set them incorrectly. There could be something else going on.

andrewzarian
09-18-2012, 08:09 AM
I know Mike would have an answer for this :)

shorter126
09-18-2012, 11:13 AM
My last episode of tektalk5 was recorded and processed with Adobe Audition. You can hear it here (http://tsquareg.net/wii-u-is-ready).

A sound file with no compression is attached77

Thanks a bunch !

mcphillips
09-18-2012, 07:56 PM
I apologize if you've posted this information elsewhere already, but what mic and mic preamp are you using? How is your preamp or mixer connected to the computer? What sound card are you using? How far away from the mic are you talking? What sort of acoustical treatment do you have in your room?