PDA

View Full Version : Why all the talk About Money and not building an Audience

Richardpell
11-09-2015, 08:31 AM
Im still pretty new to podcasting. I have only been around for about a year or so but I have noticed a strange trend recently. Its all about the money. Almost every question I see on Facebook and other sites is " How can I make money with my podcast". Shouldn't we be talking about methods of growing our audience rather then talking about money.

I listened to a Blab that Mike Phillips hosted over the weekend and it was interesting to see how many people were considering making money with their podcaster instead of growing the audience. Andrew Zarian was also in the blab and pretty much said that if you have an audience advertisers will come to you.

Anyone have a link to that video

Dana
11-09-2015, 09:56 AM
Hey Brother. We must have went to the same sites this weekend. :) I also just put up a post about making money through Podcasting, this morning. I also watched a video with Mike Phillips in it, yesterday. As far as I know, I have read just about every article Mike has written, concerning audio, or at least everyone I could find through Google. I just found this other show he was on @ http://www.nissancommunications.com/playarchive.php?id=xiBdU4TOdXc.

In my article I wrote this morning, I mentioned nothing about growing your audience. Not only is it a very good point that you bring up, it will and does, have an impact on the amount of money, you can make. My post deals more with the different ways you can, as a Podcaster, try and bring in some income. Thanks for the post and if you do find the link to the video, please post it. I enjoy listening to people from this forum in the middle of the night, as I am working.