PDA

View Full Version : How to prevent Podfading. How do Podcasters keep going?

jamesdelfresco
07-15-2013, 06:50 PM
I have been doing podcasting on and off for a few years now I at times get burnt out. I have also noticed many Podcasters and Internet Broadcasters Podfade. How do you prevent this from happening? Is it possible for someone to return and still keep their audience once they podfade and come back?

MyTakeRadio
07-15-2013, 07:08 PM
I get burnt out often and at times have contemplated throwing in the towel but I remind myself that is something I enjoy doing and people count on me to be entertained. I usually take a week off to recharge every couple of months. I burnt hard when I started in 2006 and it took a lot to get me motivated.

brianmonroe
07-28-2013, 07:14 PM
James,

Here is my take on the whole podfading thing. The 1st question that does come up is how often are you doing shows? I have found that if you are doing shows more than once a week as a hobby, it is easy to either run out of material or get burnt out quickly. In that case I would take planned breaks but make sure you let your audience know ahead of time so that they will stick around for you to come back. Also, depending on the kind of show you are doing, you could do a best of show while you are gone so that you have something for the listener/viewer to check out as most of your audience probably has not been listening/watching your content from the beginning. So even though it is not new it still is new to them. Another idea would be to do some small 5 min or less clips while you are away to keep some fresh content around until you get back. Of course that all depends on how long you are going to be away and what connectivity you have on your break/vacation.