PDA

View Full Version : Lets Talk Microphones. Likes? Dislikes?

TommySulivan
04-14-2013, 09:42 AM
Hello everyone. I am new to this broadcasting thing and wanted to introduce my self. My name is Tommy and have been a fan of radio for 20 years. I recently discovered what "Podcasting" is and want to take a shot at it. More of a hobby thing. I was wondering what a good microphone to start out with is, What your favorite microphone is, and what microphone do you have the most?

Also thank you to whom ever created this site. Very resourceful and a great way to meet other " Internet Broadcasters"

sunkast
04-14-2013, 06:44 PM
You can't go wrong with the ATR-2005 from Audio Technica (http://astore.amazon.com/thgufrquponet-20/detail/B007JX8O0Y). You will not find a better sounding mic for $35.

andrewzarian
04-28-2013, 04:41 PM
I would recommend the AT 2005 also. Its very inexpensive and sounds really good. Currently I'm looking for a new microphone for my studio. The issue I face is microphone phasing in my studio. I have to go with low room noise microphones. Still have not found something that I really love

Podnutter
04-28-2013, 05:05 PM
What microphones are you considering Andrew?

techzentv
04-29-2013, 08:58 AM
We have in use 2 Heil PR40's, EV RE20 and a Shure SM7B. I am not impressed with the Shure SM7B. The Heil's are probably the best for isolation. Anything off axis really is limited. The EV RE20 sounds pretty good as well.

If you are looking for a USB mic, I have a Blue Snowball and a Blue Yeti and for regular broadcasting do not recommend them unless you are in a closet. They are condenser microphones and hear everything. However, if you are trying to broadcast area audio, the yeti works great. You can set it to pickup in one direction or up to 3 directions.

If you are looking for a good lapel mic, look at a Rode lapel mic.

andrewzarian
04-29-2013, 09:33 AM